Solaire thermique

Les technologies solaires thermiques convertissent l'énergie solaire (ou rayonnement ou lumière) en énergie thermique (chaleur). Il s'agit généralement de systèmes d'eau chaude solaire (SHW: Solar Hot Water).

 

Un système d'eau chaude solaire ressemble à un système solaire photovoltaïque (PV). Cependant, un système solaire PV utilise la lumière du soleil pour produire l'électricité directement, tandis qu'un système solaire thermique utilise la lumière du soleil pour chauffer l'eau ou l'espace.

 

La plupart des systèmes solaires d'eau chaude sont constitués de capteurs solaires montés sur le toit d'un bâtiment; une pompe pour faire circuler le fluide caloporteur (typiquement eau + glycole); un échangeur de chaleur pour transférer la chaleur au stockage; et un ou deux réservoirs de stockage pour stocker l'eau chauffée par l'énergie solaire.

Les capteurs solaires thermiques absorbent l'énergie solaire et la convertissent en chaleur dans un système d'eau chaude ou dans un système d'air chaud. Il existe cinq types de capteurs pour différentes applications de chauffage de l'eau ou de l'air: air non-vitré, air vitré, tube évacué (liquide), liquide non-vitré et liquide vitré.

Les systèmes modernes d'eau chaude solaire conviennent au climat froid du Canada, car ils produisent de l'énergie lorsque la température extérieure est bien en dessous de zéro. Ils ont également des mécanismes qui les protègent du gel en hiver et de la surchauffe lors des chaudes journées ensoleillées. Ils peuvent facilement être installés sur votre chauffe-eau existant.

 

Un système d'eau chaude solaire typique réduira les coûts énergétiques annuels de 40 à 50%. En supposant un système protégé contre le gel avec 6m2 de capteurs solaires à plaque plane à simple vitrage et deux réservoirs d'eau chaude de 270 litres (60 gallons), vous pouvez vous attendre à ce qu'un chauffe-eau solaire vous fournisse 1500 à 3000 kWh d'énergie par an, selon sur votre consommation d'eau chaude et le climat régional.

 

 

Références:

- Solar water heating systems; a buyer’s guide, Natural Resources Canada

- Survey of active solar thermal collectors, industry and markets in Canada (2017), ClearSky Advisors Inc.

- Solar thermal challenge, MAPC

- Residential guide to solar hot water, Massachusetts clean energy center

solar thermal.png
type solar thermal.png

Solar Thermal

Solar thermal technologies convert solar energy (or radiation or light) into thermal (heat) energy. They are typically Solar Hot Water (SHW) or Domestic Hot Water (DHW) systems.

 

A solar hot water (SHW) system looks similar to a solar photovoltaic (PV) system. However, a solar PV system uses sunlight to generate electricity, while a SHW system uses sunlight to heat water and space.

 

Most solar hot water systems consist of solar collectors mounted on the roof of a house; a pump for circulating the heat transfer fluid (typically water + glycol); a heat exchanger for transferring the heat to storage; and one or two storage tanks for storing solar-heated water.

Solar thermal collectors absorb the sun’s energy and convert it to heat into hot water system or hot air system. There are five collector types for different applications to heat water or air: unglazed air, glazed air, evacuated tube (liquid), unglazed liquid, and glazed liquid.

Modern solar hot water systems are well suited for the cold Canadian climate because they produce energy when the outside temperature is well below freezing. They also have mechanisms that protect them from freezing in the winter and from overheating on hot sunny days. They can easily be retrofitted to your existing water heater.

 

A typical solar hot water system will reduce annual energy costs by 40 to 50 percent. Assuming a freeze-protected system with 6 m2 of single glazed flat plate solar collectors and two 270 litre (60 gallon) hot water tanks, you can expect that a solar water heater will provide you with 1500 to 3000 kWh of energy per year, depending on your hot water usage and regional climate.

 

 

References:

 

- Solar water heating systems; a buyer’s guide, Natural Resources Canada

- Survey of active solar thermal collectors, industry and markets in Canada (2017), ClearSky Advisors Inc.

- Solar thermal challenge, MAPC

- Residential guide to solar hot water, Massachusetts clean energy center

solar thermal.png
type solar thermal.png